Medical Student’s Perspective on Medical-Legal Partnership Part II

bryant-elenaMy name is Elena Bryant and I am a fourth-year medical student at Morehouse School of Medicine. I initially entered medical school with the goal of becoming either a pediatrician or a pediatric surgeon. However, the challenges of medical school really helped me to learn more about myself and solidified my future career plans. These two specialties did have a central theme: children. Therefore, it was natural to venture towards General Pediatrics. While studying medicine, what I also learned was that I loved working with the medically underserved. The complexity that their social issues added to their medical issues kept me constantly on my toes.

During third year, we are required to take a class called Fundamentals of Medicine. One session of this class involved working with law students on several fictional cases. The law students were able to connect us to the many resources established by Georgia or federal law for these patients, while the medical students were able to explain the applicable medical condition and how it negatively impacted that patient’s life. I was intrigued by how much we were resources to each other, and how knowing more about the legal side of medicine could help me in my future practice. Therefore, I decided to take the Law and Medicine elective course, during which fourth-year medical students work with Georgia State University law students in the Health Law Partnership (HeLP) Legal Services Clinic. Thus far, I am enjoying my time in this class and hope to learn as much as I can about the integrated complexities between law and medicine.