My Clinic Experience: Francis Laryea

By Francis Laryea, Spring 2016 Student Intern

I returned to the Investor Advocacy Clinic this semester after a semester long break spent at the Securities and Exchange Commission. I could think of no better way than to spend my last semester at law school.  The Clinic serves as a place for students to improve all their legal skills under the supervision of Professors Iannarone and Doss. The Clinic serves investors who would otherwise be unable to find representation. Working with the clients of the Clinic has been one of the most rewarding and gratifying law school experiences that I have had.   After serving as a Clinic I, intern in the spring of 2015, I realized the Clinic was one of the most comprehensive educational experiences a law student could have. The Clinic affords students the opportunity to conduct client interviews, speak with opposing counsel, draft motions, counsel clients, and negotiate with opposing counsel and come up with a plan of action. The professors provide a lot of discretion and act as a safety harness. Students in the Clinic are encouraged to think through problems and come up with solutions for the problems.  During my time in the Clinic, not only did I learn the conceptual knowledge related to securities arbitration, I also learned about the practical aspects of practicing in the field, that I believe translates to various areas of law.

I would encourage every student to participate in a Clinic before they complete their law school career. Although Clinics are demanding, students will leave the Clinic agreeing that it was well worth the experience.