Clinic II Allowed Me to Make the Jump from Student to Attorney

By: Jason Robinson, Fall 2015 Student Intern

DSC_0135My time in Clinic II gave me the opportunity to practice the knowledge and skills that I learned as a Clinic I intern. Securities arbitration sponsored by the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) is a specialized area of law with a steep learning curve. I am glad that I decided to do Clinic II because it allowed me to work with new clients and take on more responsibility. Over the course of the semester we filed two statements of claim, drafted two comment letters, wrote blog posts, and facilitated a presentation on how to recognize investment fraud. Our professor constantly challenged us to take ownership of our cases and dictate the direction that we thought best served the interests of our clients.

While working in Clinic II I also took a class in Securities Regulation and Advanced Legal Writing, both included subject matter that complemented my day to day work in the Clinic. As a law school student it can be difficult to make the jump from a student to being an actual attorney, and the Clinic allowed me to take those first steps under the guidance of experienced lawyers. I would recommend the Clinic to any student who wants to dip their feet in an interesting area of law and gain valuable practical skills in the process. Along with all I have learned in the clinic I also take away a great amount of satisfaction from knowing that I served individuals in the community who did not have the means to pay for legal representation on the free market.